What is Theertha

Theertha is an autonomous, artist-led non-profit initiative based in Colombo. Theertha has undertaken considerable amount of art activities since its inception in 2000. First, started by 11 visual artists to facilitate international art exchange through international artist workshops in Sri Lanka, it has expanded its activities to include art education, publications on art/culture, heritage management through art and international residencies. Theertha established its own alternative art space ‘Red Dot Gallery’ in 2007 in order showcase the experimental and contemporary art produced within its programs.

Theertha, who support art of the 90's trend which challenged the existing aesthetics, methodologies and ideology in art making has always emphasized and encouraged innovative and experimental ideas among artists. Theertha has showcased some of the innovative artworks done by the contemporary artists.

Theertha facilitated artists’ mobility through its regularly held international art workshops and residencies. As a result of these activities Theertha was able to be a founding partner of the ' South Asian Network of Artists' (SANA), a South Asia based network of artists with Pakistan (Vasl), India (Khoj International), Nepal (Sutra) and Bangladesh (Britto Arts Trust). Other networks have been formed and connections expanded over the 15 years of Theertha’s existence, which has resulted in interesting and innovative collaborations internationally and in Sri Lanka.

The core objective of Theertha International Artists' Collective is to explore the possibilities of exchanging ideas and knowledge across ethnic, regional and artistic borders, in the context of contemporary critical art practice in Sri Lanka.

At present Theertha is housed at 39/4A, D. S. Senanayake Mawatha, Borella, Sri Lanka.

Core Group

Jagath Weerasinghe (Chairman)
Bandu Manamperi (Vice Chairman)
Anoli Perera (General Secretary)
G.R. Constantine (Treasurer)
Pradeep Chandrasiri (Asst. Treasurer)
K. pushpakumara
Niranjala Gunasinghe
Sarath Kumarasiri
Anura Krishantha
Pala Pothupitiya
Thisath Thoradeniya
Prasanna Ranabahu
Menika Van der Pootan
Lalith Manage